A Ubisoft Studio Wants To Save Anno 2070!

The French publisher has spilt the beans on when it plans to say more about its games (while today is Skull & Bones, so the rumour about that was true).

 

A few days ago, we wrote that Ubisoft would be killing off the online service of several games in September (which would also make DLCs unavailable in some cases). However, Ubisoft Mainz, which developed Anno 2070, doesn’t want its game to end up in the digital graveyard (as it’s one of the affected titles). The studio reacted to the matter shortly after the French publisher’s announcement.

“After an initial investigation, we have decided to dedicate some of our development resources to work on upgrading Anno 2070’s aged online services infrastructure to a new system so that these features can continue to be used past the mentioned date. However, we cannot yet guarantee that we’ll be able to successfully upgrade/replace the old services as we’d like to,” the studio wrote. (If the fans could restore the online services of Batman: Arkham Origins years after the servers were shut down, trust the German developers!)

Anno 2070 was released on November 17 2011, so it’s more than ten years old, but the lifespan of a strategy game is not like that of an annual sports game: many people pick them up years after release! Ubisoft’s announcement has been met with negative reviews on Steam, but not so many that it’s a blatant case.

The French publisher has announced a new broadcast of Skull & Bones on YouTube today at 8 PM CET (11 AM Pacific, 2 PM Eastern), but expect Ubisoft to be back with more beyond that. There will also be a Ubisoft Forward on September 10 at 9 PM CET (10 AM Pacific, 1 PM Eastern), to be precise. It will be available to watch on YouTube, Twitch and the French publisher’s website. It is not known what to expect. There might be Assassin’s Creed: Infinity, but there’s also The Division: Heartland (which has also been leaked); we should hear about the Splinter Cell remake, Beyond Good & Evil 2, but maybe Ghost Recon Frontline, the Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time remake, maybe Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora deserve some airtime…

Source: PCGamer, PCGamer

Spread the love
Avatar photo
Anikó, our news editor and communication manager, is more interested in the business side of the gaming industry. She worked at banks, and she has a vast knowledge of business life. Still, she likes puzzle and story-oriented games, like Sherlock Holmes: Crimes & Punishments, which is her favourite title. She also played The Sims 3, but after accidentally killing a whole sim family, swore not to play it again. (For our office address, email and phone number check out our IMPRESSUM)