Elden Ring takes Game of the Year at D.I.C.E. Awards 2023 as God of War Ragnarök Wins Seven Prizes

Sony Santa Monica’s God of War Ragnarök took home seven awards at this year’s D.I.C.E. Awards ceremony, including Adventure Game of the Year. However, FromSoftware’s Elden Ring won the coveted Game of the Year Award in addition to four other prizes.


The D.I.C.E. Awards 2023 ceremony was held at the Resorts World in Las Vegas and hosted by the Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences. As predicted by the nominations, God of War Ragnarök won the most awards, taking home seven prizes in the following categories: Outstanding Achievement in Animation, Art Direction, Character, Original Music Composition, Audio Design, Story, and Adventure Game of the Year.

FromSoftware’s Elden Ring took home the Game of the Year Award, along with Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction, Game Design, Technical Achievement, and Role-Playing Game of the Year.

Other winners at the D.I.C.E. Awards 2023 included Red Matter 2, which won Immersive Reality Technical Achievement and Immersive Reality Game of the Year, Ubisoft’s Mario + Rabbids: Sparks of Hope for Family Game of the Year, poncle’s Vampire Survivors for Action Game of the Year, Player First Games’ MultiVersus for Fighting Game of the Year, Polyphony Digital’s Gran Turismo 7 for Racing Game of the Year, Roll7’s OlliOlli World for Sports Game of the Year, Bay 12 Games’ Dwarf Fortress for Strategy/Simulation Game of the Year, Square Enix’s Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker for Online Game of the Year, Second Dinner Studios’ MARVEL SNAP for Mobile Game of the Year, and TUNIC Team’s eponymous game for Outstanding Achievement for an Independent Game.

The Hall of Fame Award at the D.I.C.E. Awards 2023 went to industry legend Tim Schafer from Double Fine, known for his work on titles such as The Curse of Monkey Island, Grim Fandango, Psychonauts, Brütal Legend, Broken Age, and Psychonauts 2. Last year’s award went to NetherRealm’s Ed Boon, creator of Mortal Kombat.

Despite Elden Ring taking home the Game of the Year Award, the seven prizes for God of War Ragnarök demonstrate its quality and success in the industry. Fans of both games are eagerly anticipating what’s next from these talented developers.


Spread the love
Avatar photo
theGeek is here sincs 2019.

No comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.