The Dark Pictures Anthology: Man of Medan Will Come With Multiplayer, Too [VIDEO]

The first instalment of The Dark Pictures Anthology (which is planned to have eight parts) will offer multiplayer, too.

Let’s see a quick recap of the two game modes:

Shared Story Mode (Online)

  • Share the story simultaneously with a friend in two-player online co-op.
  • Both players explore the world, make choices and perform actions that affect the outcome of the story and the fate of their respective characters.
  • Traverse scenes through a different perspective from the single-player experience—sometimes together, sometimes apart—in totally separate scenes revealing new information, locations and scares.


Movie Night Mode (Offline)

  • Play locally in a group of up to five players with one controller, with each player taking charge of the movement, decisions and choices of one of the five main characters.
  • Players can choose between saving themselves or trying to keep their friends’ characters alive.
  • At the end of each playthrough, actions and impacts will be judged – with achievements & rewards for each player.


With the latter mode, it seems Supermassive Games might have taken some cues from the fans, as some of them have likely recreated the same experience in Until Dawn, the devs’ previous game exclusive on PlayStation 4, where everyone picked a character and grabbed the DualShock 4 when it was their turn. The Shared Story Mode is also not a bad idea, as it opens the game up a bit more as if we played solo. The two modes are introduced to us by Supermassive Games and Bandai Namco in a trailer below.

Bandai Namco will publish The Dark Pictures Anthology: Man of Medan on August 30, and it will not be a PlayStation 4-exclusive game, as Supermassive Games‘ work will be available on Xbox One and PC as well. Oh, and they revealed to GameInformer that they plan to release two games of the anthology every 12 months!

Source: Gematsu

Spread the love

No comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.