Menu

Outriders: A Delay, But More Platforms Will Get It [VIDEO]

Outriders – We finally learned a bit more about Square Enix’ and People Can Fly’s next game.

We wouldn’t blame you in case you forgot about Outriders, because it wasn’t even seen on heard of since the E3 2019 announcement. But now, the Japanese publisher and the Polish dev team (Painkiller series, Gears of War PC port, co-developer of the series until Judgment, Bulletstorm…) said a thing or two.

For example, they revealed that the game won’t launch this summer. Instead, it’s going to arrive this Holiday season, and if you think it’s because of the PlayStation 5 and the Xbox Series X, you’d be correct: Outriders is now a cross-gen title, as it was first announced for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. That’s not all: on Friday (February 13), at 12 PM PT/3 PM ET/8 PM UK/9 PM CET, the devs will hold a live stream with the gameplay reveal on Twitch. The stream will feature game director Bartek Kmita, lead writer Joshua Rubin, and host Malik Forte.

„Outriders is an RPG shooter set in an original, dark and desperate sci-fi universe. As mankind bleeds out in the trenches of Enoch, you’ll create your own Outrider and embark on a journey across a hostile planet. With rich storytelling spanning a diverse world, you’ll leave behind the slums and shanty towns of the First City and traverse forests, mountains and deserts in pursuit of a mysterious signal. Combining intense gunplay with violent powers, along with an arsenal of increasingly twisted weaponry and gear-sets, Outriders offers countless hours of gameplay from one of the finest shooter studios in the industry,” Square Enix’ description says.

So we’ll get a cross-gen game in return for the delay. We were right with our hunch then: Outriders did feel like a next-gen game, and it’s going to have some relationship with Marvel’s Avengers, too. Until then, here’s the first trailer.

Source: Gematsu

Please support our page theGeek.games on Patreon, so we can continue to write you the latest gaming, movie and tech news and reviews as an independent magazine.
Become a Patron!

Spread the love

No comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

The Geek Facebook Page